T20 World Cup 2018

The arrival of T20 World cup 2018 had already decided in June 2016. International Cricket Council (ICC) suggested South Africa for the host. Rumor for the delay come to halt in August 2017.

T20 tournaments held up to the date has following performance reviews. In 2007, tournament hosted in South Africa, whereas runner up was Pakistan and India was winner. In 2009, England hosted the tournament where Pakistan won and Sri Lanka was runner up. In 2010, West Indies hosted T20 World cup tournament where England and Australia were winner and runner up respectively. In 2012, Sri Lanka hosted the tournament and qualified for final match but West Indies won the tournament.

In 2014, Bangladesh hosted and Sri Lanka and India were winner and runner up respectively. And last tournament T20 World Cup 2016, West Indies won by defeating Sri Lanka at the finals hosted in India. Analyzing the performance of the teams played till date, Sri Lanka, West Indies, India and Bangladesh are playing well in the tournament so far.

ICC World T20, World T20 or T20 World cup is an international tournament started in 2007. Played in two years, 6 tournaments had been played so far with total 16 teams. Last tournament hosted in India in 2016, where West Indies won by 4 wickets from England. Captaincy takes all and plays the major difference factor for the winner and loser teams.

Tournament will consist of 16 teams, out of them ten are ICC full members and other six are associate members chosen by World Twenty20 Qualifier.

Teams which are going to play T20 World cup Tournament are Australia, Bangladesh, England, India,New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Netherlands, Afghanistan,Ireland, Nepal, Oman, Hongkong, Scotland, Kenya and United Arab Emirates. There is a rumor for extending the time to have a tournament in four years i.e. in 2020 in Australia. ICC members discussed with Star India and Star Middle East Media, it was decided to play the tournament in 2018. The reason aforesaid are Champion trophy in 2018, ICC World Test Championship in 2018 and the ODI world cup in 2019.

Though South Africa has considered to host the event, South Africa Government has banned CSA (Cricket South Africa) to host international events. It is because of national disputes among themselves or their upcoming municipal election. CSA has asked for to give confirmation on or after August 2017.

All hosts, schedule and tournaments are on wait till August of this year. But, craziness for Indian cricket players is irresistible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *